I received a call tonight at around 10 pm from my friend. He’s been down for a little over a month since his relationship ended and they were trying to work things out. Well tonight she said it ain’t gonna happen. So there I was, half an hour later from the phone call, shooting pool and having drinks with him.  I have been there and done that to the point where I can tell him what happened and what will happen for him for the next few weeks, maybe months. It’s so exhausting. The wanting… the needing. When it’s over, it’s over. Walk away. It’s the best thing you can do. And so you hurt… for a while. Do you become a little more jaded afterwards? A little more numb to those emotions. I wonder…. I mean, I know how I am now… numb… but what about everyone else? How many times do you get wet in the rain until you use an umbrella? Or stop going out completely?  Maybe that was a crappy metaphor, but it’ll have to do.

So here’s a little soundtrack for this post.

